Hyper Preterism is Self Refuting

Posted: June 9, 2012 by rickyroldan in Apologetics, Eschatology, Exegesis, Topical
Tags: , ,

Jeremiah 31:31-34

The New Covenant
31 “Behold, the days are coming, declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, 32 not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the Lord. 33 But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people. 34 And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the Lord. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

You see guys in the consummation of the New Covenant there will be true knowledge and there would be no need to teach, SO THE FACT THAT THEY ARE TRYING TO TEACH US HYPER PRETERISM IS SELF DEFEATING, THE MERE FACT THAT WE ARE HERE DISCUSSING ANYTHING DESTROYS THEIR VIEW OF THE NEW COVENANT. WHY? BECAUSE JEREMIAH TELLS US THAT IN THIS NH AND NE WE WILL HAVE FULL KNOWLEDGE BEING IN GODS PRESENCE…….

Compare with their exegesis of 1 Cor. 13:12 which reads….

12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.

I don’t fully know do you guys? Now granted this is their interpretation not mine but if they are consistent they must stop teaching and assume we know all things.

You see brothers and sisters, it is only in the final consumation of the New Covenant; the New Heavens and the New Earth, the Return of Christ, that ALL shall know the Lord for the only ones who will be there are His people, the Church. According to HP’s we should ALL know the Lord NOW, so why don’t we? Why the need to keep teaching and preaching the Gospel and doctrine? They cannot ever answer this in their paradigm and I believe I have shown the correct exegesis of the Jeremiah passage, ITS STILL IN THE FUTURE. We, the Church, will ALL know Him because we will ALL be His. Hyper Preterist want to have all prophecy in the past and do not take into account the already/not yet tension of eschatology.

Leave a Reply

